Daryl Bureski captures the inaugural NHRA Moser Div 3 Sportsman Shootout!


Bureski 2012 div 3 winner Moser Shootout

Bureski 2012 div 3 winner Moser Shootout

Daryl Bureski took home top honors today as he won the Inaugural NHRA Moser Sportsman Shootout at the JEGS NHRA Northern SPORTSnationals at National Trial Raceway.

The Elgin, Ill., racer worked his way through the 16-car field recording a .007 reaction time in round 2 followed by a run of 7.158 seconds on the 7.15 dial to take out Dan Olding in the semifinals and advance to the final round against James Monroe. Bureski was on his game in the final as well running 7.149 on the 7.14 dial for the win. Monroe, who runs in the Top Dragster class had to give Bureski and his ’70 Oldsmobile Stock Eliminator a three second head start on the dial and broke out by .001 second trying to run him down.

Bureski picked up $2,500 from Moser for his win along with the inaugural Moser Sportsman Shootout event trophy.

With Mother Nature causing some changes in today’s schedule, Comp Eliminator, Top Sportsman and Top Dragster will have a final qualifying session on Sunday morning beginning at 11 a.m. which will also include the first round of the JEGS Top Dragster Shootout. A special awards ceremony will take place at 12:30 p.m. Gates open at 7 a.m. with racing set to start at 8 a.m.

Jason Coan remains on top in Comp eliminator with an 8.128 second lap in his ’32 roadster. Wes Leopold jump to the top in Super Stock with his ’05 Stratus running 8.481 seconds, -1.119 under the index and Jim Marshall is low in Stock out of Indian Land, S.C. Marshall went 1.164 under the index clocking in at 12.886.

In the Brodix/Steve Schmidt Top Sportsman class it was Lester Johnson who will take the No. 1 spot into Sunday with a 6.609 second run at 213.23 mph. Scott Wildgust, Wartburg, Ont., leads the Spitzer Top Dragster contingent at 6.093, 226.01 followed by Dan Norris, Wixom, Mich.

The following are the final results for the NHRA Moser Sportsman Shootout and qualifying results from the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series JEGS Northern Sportsnationals event at National Trail Raceway:


Daryl Bureski, Elgin, IL,’70 Oldsmobile, 7.158, 93.33 def. Dan Olding, Hartland, MI, ‘99 Monte Carlo, 6.968, 97.04

James Monroe, Bloomington, IN, ‘09 dragster, 4.161, 150.20 def. Michael Shelton, Independence, KY, ‘12 dragster, 6.220, 127.14


Daryl Bureski, 7.149, 92.46 def. Monroe, 4.119, 170.49


  Daryl Bureski (far lane) captured the inaugural NHRA Moser Sportsman Shootout in holding off the hard charging James Monroe in the final round

Bureski beats Monroe in 2012 div 3 Sportsman shtot

Leave a Reply