Moser Sportsman Shootout Field Set For Bowling Green


Moser Sportsman Shootout decal

The Moser Sportsman Shootout heads into Beech Bend Raceway Park in Bowling Green, Ky., Aug. 27, for the North Central Division Lucas Oil Finals with a stellar line up and the assurance of its fifth different winner.  Twelve of the sixteen qualifiers for the unique allstar-type event are making their first shootout appearance with the Super Comp duo of Troy Coughlin, Jr. and 2013 shootout runner-up Philip Smida making their third shootout show.


The Moser Sportsman Shootout is unique in that racers from seven entirely different class structures will be racing each other head-to-head to see who, is the best of the best.  The top two in Moser points in Super Stock, Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, Super Street, Top Sportsman and Top Dragster along with two additional “Wild Card” entries drawn from an online registration will make up the 16-car field.


Along with Coughlin and Smida, who are also in a deadlock for the Division 3 NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series championship, the field includes 2015 Super Gas national champion Jacob Elrod, who got in as one of the wild card draws, and current Super Gas national points leader Mia Tedesco in her first shootout.  This will be the second straight year for Nick Morris with his Super Stock Mustang.


Other first time participants include Alex Miller (Wild Card – SST); Dennis Napier and Craig Meyer in Super Street; David Dupps (Super Stock); Bryan Merkle and Andrew Hill in Stock; Joe Hessling and Zach Sackman in Top Dragster; Mark McDonald and Jeff Sexton in Top Sportsman, and Leo Zynda in Super Gas.

Div 3 Shootout bracket

Past Moser Shootout Champions include Daryl Bureski in 2012 with his Stock eliminator Oldsmobile, Pat Martin in 2013 in his Super Gas roadster, Rudy Matthews in 2014 in his Super Street Camaro and Scotty Rienshield in 2015 with his Super Street Corvette.  This is the first time for the Moser Sportsman Shootout in Bowling Green as the previous events had all been contested during the JEGS Northern SPORTSnationals at National Trail Raceway in Columbus, Ohio.


A $15,000 cash purse is up for grabs with $5,000 to the winner, $2,000 to the runner-up, $1,000 to each of the semi-finalists, $700 to the quarter-finalists and $400 to each of the remaining event qualifiers.


To be eligible for full posted purse qualifier must run the NHRA Moser Sportsman Shootout program decal and Moser Engineering axles and display the Moser Engineering product decal during the Sportsman Shootout event.  Qualifiers not utilizing Moser Engineering axles or decal requirements will receive 50% of the posted awards.  Drivers are not required to have Moser Engineering axles to qualify or participate in the program.

Comments are closed.